| TIMELINE | EVOLUTION OF THE LEGAL FRAMEWORK | Membership (Enlargement process) |
|-----------|---|--|
| 1950 | Schuman Declaration (Paris, 9 May 1950) | |
| 1951 | European Coal and Steel Community Treaty (Paris, 18 April 1951; applied from 1952 until 2002) | <u>6 States:</u> France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, The Netherlands, Luxembourg |
| 1952-1954 | European Defence Community Treaty (signed in 1952 by the 6 ECSC States, but <u>failed in 1954</u> when the French National Assembly refused to ratify it) Draft Statute of the European Political Community (never signed) | (6 ECSC States) |
| 1957 | Treaties of Rome, 25 March 1957: European Economic Community Treaty (EEC Treaty; in force since 1st January 1958) & European Atomic Energy Community Treaty (EURATOM) | 6 ECSC States: the founding States of the Union |
| 1973 | | Denmark, the UK and Ireland (9 MSs) |
| 1981 | | Greece (10 MSs) |
| 1986 | | Portugal and Spain (12 MSs) |
| | Developments <u>outside</u> the framework of the European Communities, but in close connection with the process of European integration European Political Cooperation 1974 (Paris Summit): institutionalization of the meeting of the European Council 1985 Schengen Agreement: creation of the Schengen Area | |
| 1986 | Single European Act | |
| 1992 | Treaty on European Union, or Maastricht Treaty (signed in February 1992, entered into force in November 1993) | |
| 1995 | | Austria, Finland, Sweden join (15 MSs) |
| 1997 | Treaty of Amsterdam (entered in force in 1999) | |
| 2001 | Treaty of Nice (entered in force in 2003) | |
| 2004-2005 | (Failed) Constitutional Treaty | |
| 2004 | | The big enlargement towards East : Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Slovenia, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Malta, Cyprus (25 MSs) |

| 2007 | Lisbon Treaty (signed in December 2007; entered in force on 1 st December 2009; <i>see</i> pictures 2 and 3 below) | |
|----------------|--|--|
| 2007 | | Romania and Bulgaria joins the EU (27 MSs) |
| 2013 | | Croatia joins the EU (28 MSs) |
| 26 June 2016 | Brexit referendum | |
| 29 March 2017 | UK notifies intention to withdraw under Article 50 TEU | |
| 1 January 2020 | Agreement on the Withdrawal of the UK from the EU (entry in force) | Back to 27 Member States |
| | To be continued | |