History of European Union

European integration

- = Political, legal, economic integration within Europe
- El has a long history, many attempts to unify Europe, usually by force or by dynastic unions
- Nowadays
 - peaceful integration
 - law is the instrument of integration
 - International organization are the basis for integration
- Most important: EC/EU and CoE, but also many others on both East and West of Europe

Schuman declaration – foundation of European Communities

- 9 May 1950 Schuman declaration
- 18 April 1951 (23 July 1952) the ECSC Treaty in Paris
- ECSC :
 - common market in steel and coal,
 - jurisdiction has the High Authority, not MS
- European Defense Community and European Political Community failed due to French no
- 25 March 1957 (1 January 1958) the Treaties of Rome (EEC and EURATOM)

"Inner six" and "outer seven"

- "inner six" = EC Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands
- "outer seven" = EFTA Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
- EEC form of cooperation between EFTA and EC
- Difference between EC and EFTA (or any other IO):
 - Scope of coop. well, yeas, but in fact NOT really
 - Form of coop. YES!

Intergovernmental vs. Supranational coop.

- Supranationalism
 - = a method of decision-making in multi-national political communities, wherein power is transferred to an authority broader than governments of member states
 - rules can be made in the EC which have a direct impact on the Member States and thereby also a direct effect on the citizens of the Member States.
- Intergovernmentalism:
 - the traditional form of international cooperation between counties
 - States are primary and supreme actors in the international process

Further economic development of the Communities

- FTA
- Customs Union
- Common market
- Internal Market
- Economic and monetary union

From common to single market

- In 80's the possibility of further integration under the current Treaties was exhausted.
- 1985 the Commission published the White paper on the completion of the internal market
- 1986 Single European Act as the legislative instrument for changes
 - Most important achievement Art. 95 EC Treaty

From economic to political cooperation

- 1993 Maastricht Treaty came into force
- → the European Union as an economic and political union has been established
- Union has 3 pillars:
 - Communities
 - foreign affairs
 - justice and internal affairs
 - Maastricht Treaty has changed the name of the EEC - now EC

European Union – Further Development

- European Union a compromise solution
- 1997 the Treaty of Amsterdam
- 2000 the Treaty of Nice
- 2004 the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe
- 2007 Lisbon Treaty

Geographic Enlargement of EC/EU

- Founded by Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and Netherlands.
- 1973 Great Britain, together with Ireland and Denmark
- 1981 Greece
- 1986 Portugal with Spain
- 1995 Austria, Finland and Sweden
- 2004 Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia, Malta and Cyprus
- 2007 Bulgaria and Romania
- In future may be Iceland, Croatia and some other Balkan states, as well as Turkey

Accession criteria

- Political
- Economic and
- Legislative

Conclusion

- IO is currently the most suitable platform for integration. Being a member of an IO does not deprive the state of its sovereignty;
- After WW2 a number of IO have been established in both Western and Eastern Europe. Their objectives were usually economic and/or security;
- European Communities were initially 3, now two IO founded in order to achieve economic and security objectives. Supranationality makes them unique;
- In addition to Communities in 1992/1993 the European Union was established. European Union does not replace them. Communities remain part of the EU as its substantial part;
- EU is not (until the Lisbon Treaty comes into force) an IO. It is an entity based on a Treaty on European Union;
- EU covers 3 pillars Communities, common foreign and security policy and police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters
- method of cooperation is different in each of the pillars. Supranationality applies only in the first pillar whereas the others are intergovernmental;
- The Treaty of Amsterdam transferred some of the issues covered by the third pillar to the first pillar of the EU;
- The Lisbon Treaty will cause that the EC is absorbed by the European Union. The pillar structure will exist no more. This change will not affect EURATOM;