# **The European Monetary Union – First Years**



#### **Dr. Nellie Munin**



#### **Basic Facts**

- The legal framework for the EMU was established by the Maastricht Treaty (1993).
- The Euro is used among banks since 1999 and by the public since 2001.
- The Euro is the official coin of 19 out of 28 EU Member States.
- The ECB (European Central Bank) is the EU institution in charge of the EMU.

## **Eurozone Member States**

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain.

Non-Members Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden.

**EU Member States with an Opt-Out Denmark, the UK.** 



## **Eurozone's Legal Framework**

- **TEU and TFEU provisions.**
- EU Regulations and Directives.
- Judgments by the CJEU, interpreting legislation.
- Member States' Domestic (implementing) legislation.



### **The ECBS (European Central Bank System)**

#### **Three Circles:**

#### •The ECB:

- Executive Board
- Board of Governors since the access of Lithuania (2015) voting by rotation:

https://www.ecb.europa.eu/explainers/tell-memore/html/voting-rotation.en.html

#### •EMU Member States' Central Banks – enforcement.

•EU Member States' Central Banks – consultation.



## The Maastricht Convergence Criteria (Art. 140 TFEU)

- Inflation: the unweighted arithmetic average of the similar HICP inflation rates in the 3 EU member states with the lowest HICP inflation plus 1.5%.
- National debt: up to 60% of national GDP.
- National deficit: up to 3% of national GDP.
- Exchange rate stability: no devaluation or 'severe tensions' during previous two years.
- Long term interest rates: no more than 2.0% higher, than the unweighted arithmetic average of the similar 10-year government bond yields in the 3 EU member states with the lowest HICP inflation.

Sanctions:

- Commission warning
- European Council decision
- CJEU judgment
- Fines



## **The Stability Pact**

- Constant surveillance by EU Commission on the economic and financial stability of the EU/Eurozone Member States and candidates.
- Published reports every 6 months.
- Peer pressure.



Monetary Sovereign Authorities Given up by EMU Member States

- Determination of interest rate.
- Devaluation of currency.

**Instruments left in the hands of national regime to deal with financial crises:** 

- Domestic taxation.
- Austerity.
- Independence in determining national budget.





## Conclusion

- The EMU means that all its Member States agree to share the same monetary disciplines, advantages and risks.
- In times of financial crises, the main danger is that this framework would facilitate spillover of the crisis among its Members.
- Also, solidarity implies mutual financial assistance in times of crises.
- These aspects have been sources of major concern in the current financial crisis.
- In turn, they led to the establishment of the ESM and 'Six Pack'.



# Thank You E-mail: Nelliemunin@gmail.com