Institutions of the EU

What institutions the European Union does have;

What is their structure and competences; What are their mutual relations?

Main institutions of the EU

- European Council,
- European Parliament,
- Council of European Union,
- European Commission,
- Court of Justice,
- Court of Auditors

European Parliament

- <u>no</u> supreme legislative competence
- consists of representatives of the peoples of the Member (MEPs)
- MEPs are organized not according to their nationality but political opinion into different parliamentary groups.

Member State	No of mandates (2009-2014)	No of mandates (Lisbon Treaty)
Germany	99	96
France	72	74
United Kingdom, Italy	72	73
Spain	50	54
Poland	50	51
Romania	33	32
Netherlands	25	26
Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary, Portugal, Greece	22	21
Sweden	18	20
Austria	17	18
Bulgaria	17	18
Slovakia, Finland, Denmark	13	13
Ireland, Lithuania, Croatia	12	11
Latvia	8	8
Slovenia	7	8
Estonia, Cyprus, Luxembourg	6	6
Malta	5	6
TOTAL	748	751

Competences

- power of control over the Union's institutions
- budgetary power
- Limited (shared) legislative power

The European Council

- politically the most important institution
- comprises of the Heads of State or Government of the Member States, President of the Eu. Council, President of the Commission
- no executive or legislative power, it only defines the European Union's main policy agenda

The Council

 The Council ≠ Council of Europe ≠ European Council

Configurations of the Council
General Affairs
Economic and Financial Affairs
External Relations
Cooperation in the fields of Justice and Home Affairs
Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs
Transport, Telecommunications and Energy
Agriculture and Fisheries
Environment
Education, Youth and Culture
Competitiveness

COREPER and Presidency

- COREPER is responsible for preparing the work of the Council, examines in advance all the items on the agenda for a Council meeting
- Presidency system of rotation with one exception – external affairs

Voting – qualified majority

Germany, France, Italy, Great Britain	29
Poland, Spain	27
Romania	14
Netherlands	13
Belgium, Czechia, Hungary, Portugal, Greece	12
Austria, Sweden, Bulgary	10
Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Lithuania, Slovakia, Croatia	7
Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Luxembourg, Slovenia	4
Malta	3
CELKEM	352

Big states - orange: 170 votes vs. Small states - blue: 175 votes

Qualified majority: 260

+ population(**62**%): not obligatory

+ more than 1/2 of all states : obligatory

New (post-Lisbon) qualified majority

- Majority of 55% of all MS
- And majority must represent at least 65% of population

Competences of the Council

- budgetary authority
- Legislative competence
- Competence in external relations

The Commission

- true supranational body
- resembles a national government
- consists of one national of each Member State (Commissioner) – independent!
- Competences:
 - Power of control
 - Implementing powers
 - Executive powers
 - Legislative competence

The European Central Bank

- responsible for the monetary policy of the Eurozone
- main task is to maintain the price stability and to implement the European monetary policy
- independent from any Union's or national institution
- main decision-making bodies
 - Governing Council and
 - the Executive Board

The Court of Auditors

- main task is to independently audit the management of the EU property and the performance of the Union budget
- consists of one national from each Member State
- has the control power to examine the accounts of all revenues and expenditures of the whole European Union including all its bodies, offices or agencies.